Transfers Scanned?

Post your questions here if you need help to use NewsLeecher or if you have a question about a feature.

Transfers Scanned?

Postby shmoes » Mon May 17, 2004 3:19 am

(Transfers Scanned)

WTF does that mean in the active status window?
shmoes
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 3:16 am

Postby beergeek » Mon May 17, 2004 7:38 pm

It means that particular server has been scanned for all the articles in the transfer queue and has either downloaded them or they did not exist on the server.

Sometimes, NL does not handle certain errors well, and I've seen that message on servers that temporarily would not connect, but the articles existed. In that case, you need to close/open NL.
beergeek
 
Posts: 329
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2004 12:30 am

Postby Floh » Tue May 18, 2004 7:59 am

I have that problem at least once a day. No chance for me to do big downloads while i'm at work because NL just stops downloading after a hour or two due to this not so well handled errors. I only can restart NL when i'm back at home to get NL download again... really annoying
Floh
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 11:08 am

Postby scuba69 » Wed May 19, 2004 5:48 pm

I have the same issue. If one of my servers gets certain types of errors no more downloading will happen on that server until you reload (not just re-connect) newsleecher.

[small rant]

Maybe just maybe the developer will take pity on us and fix this type of bug rater tha worry so much about new icons.


[end of small rant]

btw - this is still by FAR the best downloader out there. Thanks
scuba69
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 10:00 pm
Location: Seattle

Postby daphatty » Wed May 19, 2004 6:02 pm

Just to clarify, Transfers Scanned is not always associated to a bug. It is also used by secondary servers to show that they have scanned the queue and taken care of the parts they are responsible for.
daphatty
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 604
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 4:38 am
Location: USA

Postby scuba69 » Wed May 19, 2004 6:37 pm

Just to re-clarify

2 servers are happily downloading the same post. One gets an error (like 500 information not available) it stops scanning the que and goes to a status of Idle. Connecting and reconnecting servers does not get the Idle server to start back up. If you have only one server I guess you are SOL.

Stop newsleecher. Restart and now both servers are downloading again.

bug ?

LOL maybe we need a poll
scuba69
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 07, 2004 10:00 pm
Location: Seattle

Postby daphatty » Wed May 19, 2004 7:04 pm

scuba69 wrote:Just to re-clarify

2 servers are happily downloading the same post. One gets an error (like 500 information not available) it stops scanning the que and goes to a status of Idle. Connecting and reconnecting servers does not get the Idle server to start back up. If you have only one server I guess you are SOL.

Stop newsleecher. Restart and now both servers are downloading again.

bug ?

LOL maybe we need a poll


Thank you scuba69. "(Transfers Scanned) WTF does that mean in the active status window?" doesn't exactly say if there is a lack of understanding on the user's part or if a problem occurred with NL. (If that were the case then this should have been posted in the Bug Reports Forum.)

At any rate, people are making assumptions. Shmoes needs to be more specific when asking questions.
daphatty
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 604
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 4:38 am
Location: USA

Postby shmoes » Sat May 22, 2004 3:18 pm

ok well just to clarify..

it was a reaction on my part, thinking that my transfer was being scanned by the isp server. I understand the scan function now. it's all good.
shmoes
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 17, 2004 3:16 am

Postby Ambrosius » Mon May 24, 2004 12:16 am

beergeek wrote:It means that particular server has been scanned for all the articles in the transfer queue and has either downloaded them or they did not exist on the server.

Sometimes, NL does not handle certain errors well, and I've seen that message on servers that temporarily would not connect, but the articles existed. In that case, you need to close/open NL.


I have done this several times with the same problem. The files in the queue are only being downloaded from one out of the three servers that I have. I know the files are there because I can access them using my Grabit. Any other sugguestions?
Ambrosius
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 10:58 pm

Postby vonkie » Tue Jun 08, 2004 10:13 pm

(Transfers Scanned)
iI have the same problems and iI am very disappointed
sometime 4 times a day
what can I do ??
vonkie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 10:08 pm

Postby vonkie » Tue Jun 08, 2004 10:13 pm

(Transfers Scanned)
iI have the same problems and iI am very disappointed
sometime 4 times a day
what can I do ??
whith nzb leecher do it get the files well
how is that possebel?
vonkie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 10:08 pm

Postby Ambrosius » Wed Jun 09, 2004 1:18 am

The problem with me was not with NL, but with my server. I have COX which is not 100% msgid compliant.
Ambrosius
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat May 22, 2004 10:58 pm

Postby pctuk » Sun Jun 27, 2004 11:24 am

I have exactly the same problem, very annoying.

Is there a fix on the way?
pctuk
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jun 27, 2004 11:24 am

Postby daphatty » Sun Jun 27, 2004 9:59 pm

pctuk wrote:I have exactly the same problem, very annoying.

Is there a fix on the way?


Make sure your news provider is not on the incompatible list. Check my sig for the appropriate link.
daphatty
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 604
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 4:38 am
Location: USA


Return to Technical Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests