Assemble files in memory or custom temp dir

If you got suggestions for new features or feature changes in NewsLeecher, go ahead and let santa know.

Post Reply
User avatar
mnerec
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 10:45 am

Assemble files in memory or custom temp dir

Post by mnerec » Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:43 pm

I would really like the option of either assembling files in memory or the option of a custom temp directory that I can place on a RAM disk.

I'm using 10 connections to saturate my 60+ Mbps line and when that is combined with R&E, the disk is hammered continiuosly. It is especially a problem if other programs want to use I/O at the same time.

I really don't care about a high memory usage. Use all you can! Putting 16 GB of RAM in my new machine is now less than $200.

User avatar
Downstream
Posts: 224
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:42 am
Location: Somewhere downstream

Post by Downstream » Tue Mar 06, 2012 11:55 am

Hi you could use a diskcache program.
I have the best experience with this one: http://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/fanc ... index.html

60 day demo. Still beta but very good.
It's not really a RAMdisk but it greatly reduces your HD I/Os

Well worth an hour of your time to investigate :wink:
Please let me/us know how it works out for you.
To avoid the usual none answer for most bugs: "Did you defrag?"
CPU: i7-5960X 3.3Ghz
NL runs on high end SSD with lots of free space.
RAM: 32 GB

User avatar
Downstream
Posts: 224
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:42 am
Location: Somewhere downstream

Post by Downstream » Tue Mar 06, 2012 12:36 pm

You can also put the Newsleecher temp directory on a RAMdisk
To avoid the usual none answer for most bugs: "Did you defrag?"
CPU: i7-5960X 3.3Ghz
NL runs on high end SSD with lots of free space.
RAM: 32 GB

Lord Crc
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:58 pm

Post by Lord Crc » Wed May 09, 2012 3:50 am

Downstream wrote:You can also put the Newsleecher temp directory on a RAMdisk
This does nothing, as the temp directory is not used during download.

I have loads of RAM and an SSD I could use for part assembly, I'd like to be able to use my hardware for this.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests