Assemble files in memory or custom temp dir

If you got suggestions for new features or feature changes in NewsLeecher, go ahead and let santa know.

Assemble files in memory or custom temp dir

Postby mnerec » Thu Mar 01, 2012 7:43 pm

I would really like the option of either assembling files in memory or the option of a custom temp directory that I can place on a RAM disk.

I'm using 10 connections to saturate my 60+ Mbps line and when that is combined with R&E, the disk is hammered continiuosly. It is especially a problem if other programs want to use I/O at the same time.

I really don't care about a high memory usage. Use all you can! Putting 16 GB of RAM in my new machine is now less than $200.
User avatar
mnerec
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 9:45 am

Postby Downstream » Tue Mar 06, 2012 10:55 am

Hi you could use a diskcache program.
I have the best experience with this one: http://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/fanc ... index.html

60 day demo. Still beta but very good.
It's not really a RAMdisk but it greatly reduces your HD I/Os

Well worth an hour of your time to investigate :wink:
Please let me/us know how it works out for you.
To avoid the usual none answer for most bugs: "Did you defrag?"
CPU: i7 3960X 3.3Ghz
HD on which NL runs Velicoraptor in raid setup (900 GB total)
RAM: more than useful :-)
Defrag: Daily
User avatar
Downstream
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 6:42 am
Location: Somewhere downstream

Postby Downstream » Tue Mar 06, 2012 11:36 am

You can also put the Newsleecher temp directory on a RAMdisk
To avoid the usual none answer for most bugs: "Did you defrag?"
CPU: i7 3960X 3.3Ghz
HD on which NL runs Velicoraptor in raid setup (900 GB total)
RAM: more than useful :-)
Defrag: Daily
User avatar
Downstream
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 6:42 am
Location: Somewhere downstream

Postby Lord Crc » Wed May 09, 2012 2:50 am

Downstream wrote:You can also put the Newsleecher temp directory on a RAMdisk


This does nothing, as the temp directory is not used during download.

I have loads of RAM and an SSD I could use for part assembly, I'd like to be able to use my hardware for this.
Lord Crc
 
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 8:58 pm


Return to Wishlist for Santa

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests