Assemble files in memory or custom temp dir

If you got suggestions for new features or feature changes in NewsLeecher, go ahead and let santa know.
User avatar
mnerec
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 10:45 am

Assemble files in memory or custom temp dir

Postby mnerec » Thu Mar 01, 2012 8:43 pm

I would really like the option of either assembling files in memory or the option of a custom temp directory that I can place on a RAM disk.

I'm using 10 connections to saturate my 60+ Mbps line and when that is combined with R&E, the disk is hammered continiuosly. It is especially a problem if other programs want to use I/O at the same time.

I really don't care about a high memory usage. Use all you can! Putting 16 GB of RAM in my new machine is now less than $200.

User avatar
Downstream
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:42 am
Location: Somewhere downstream

Postby Downstream » Tue Mar 06, 2012 11:55 am

Hi you could use a diskcache program.
I have the best experience with this one: http://www.romexsoftware.com/en-us/fanc ... index.html

60 day demo. Still beta but very good.
It's not really a RAMdisk but it greatly reduces your HD I/Os

Well worth an hour of your time to investigate :wink:
Please let me/us know how it works out for you.
To avoid the usual none answer for most bugs: "Did you defrag?"
CPU: i7-5960X 3.3Ghz
NL runs on high end SSD with lots of free space.
RAM: 32 GB

User avatar
Downstream
Posts: 223
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 7:42 am
Location: Somewhere downstream

Postby Downstream » Tue Mar 06, 2012 12:36 pm

You can also put the Newsleecher temp directory on a RAMdisk
To avoid the usual none answer for most bugs: "Did you defrag?"
CPU: i7-5960X 3.3Ghz
NL runs on high end SSD with lots of free space.
RAM: 32 GB

Lord Crc
Posts: 77
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 9:58 pm

Postby Lord Crc » Wed May 09, 2012 3:50 am

Downstream wrote:You can also put the Newsleecher temp directory on a RAMdisk


This does nothing, as the temp directory is not used during download.

I have loads of RAM and an SSD I could use for part assembly, I'd like to be able to use my hardware for this.


Return to “Wishlist for Santa”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest